European Newspapers, Live TV Channels & Radios Online

Media List of European Countries Read European Newspapers, Latest News, Watch Live TV Online World Newspapers List, Media Directory Online Newspapers List World Newspapers List Countrywise Newspapers List Breaking News List of World Newspapers by Circulation World's Top Newspapers List World Famous Newspapers List USA Newspapers UK Newspapers, Latest News, Online Newspapers, News Today, Breaking News, Live TV Channel List, World Media Directory

Bangladesh women’s emerging team suffer defeat after game decided by a super over

all media link

By Ashok Ramsarup :: The South African women’s emerging team have recorded a T20series clean sweep against Bangladesh in an exciting match at the Mandela Cricket Oval in Hammanskraal. The game was decided by a super over.   Skipper Nadine de Klerk notched an unbeaten 83 runs and 14 respectively for the home side to secure a 3-0 series victory.

The Bangladeshi squad managed to match their hosts’ 147-run total after allowing the visitors to bat first thanks to an unbeaten 73 off 58 balls by Sanjida Islam. They made 147 for 5 in their allotted overs. Opener Murshida Khatun who made 26 was the only other batter to score runs beyond 20.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) Women’s International Newcomer of the Year recipient Tumi Sekhukhune took 2 for 19. She led the bowling attack alongside Evodia Yekile who took 2 for 30.

South African captain Nadine de Klerk, clearly still riding the crest of the wave with the CSA Girls Under-19 Player of the Tournament at the CSA awards yesterday for the second consecutive year, won the hearts of local fans with the bat. She hit  seven fours and three sixes in her 83 from 53 deliveries. She was ably supported by Tazmin Brits who made 35 off 36 ballsand Robyn Searle, who recorded 20 from 22 batting at number four position.

The match moved to the super over after Bangladesh levelled the scores at the end of their innings. Sekhukhune applied the brakes on Bangladesh as the South Asian country’s   NigarSultana scored eight from three deliveries with just two more added by Sanjida Islam to get their side to 10 in the end.

Yesterday two leading cricketers FAF DU PLESSIS and DANE VAN NIEKERK were honoured with the South African Cricketer of the Year Awards respectively at a function in Pretoria.

This was Du Plessis first as the Standard Bank Proteas captain while it was a remarkable display of consistency at the top level by Van Niekerk who claimed the award for three of the last four years. She was also lauded by her peers in being named SA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year.

Du Plessis was the leading award winner on the night, also being named Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year as well as being honoured by his peers in being named SA Players’ Player of the Year.

Another cricketer David Miller was named as Standard Bank T20 International Cricketer of the Year. while Rabada was honoured by the fans on being named SA Fans Player of the Year.

The other top awards in the women’s category went to Marizanne Kapp who was honoured  ODI Player of the Year and Shabnim Ismail who was named T20 International Player of the Year.

CSA Chief Executive Thabang Moroe has heaped huge praises on DU PLESSIS and VAN NIEKERK as both have had very good years, contributing in their specific disciplines. Moroe said their leadership qualities played a part in the two senior national sides respectively.

Ashok Ramsarup is award-winning senior journalist of South Africa 🇿🇦 

all media link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *